"Armenian subtitles" project needs your help!

Help us to translate cartoons and films to Armenian language. We need volunteer translators (English -> Armenian, Russian -> Armenian). Contact us for more information. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Wednesday, 6 January 2010

Nor Dar - Opus of the Lizard (1997)

Artist: Nor Dar
Title: Opus of the Lizard
Year: 1997
Quality: Excellent, 320 kbps (constant)
Codec: MP3
Category: Armenian music, Armenian ethnic music
Format: RAR archive
Archive Size: 127 MB
Links: filefactory.com

1. Alagiaz 7:17
2. Sari sirun 5:14
3. Kaghanem anum 0:43
4. Chinares 4:06
5. Harsi berd 6:34
6. Hov arek 6:51
7. Dance 4:19
8. Apricot 1:33
9. Hoi nazan 2:29
10. Nazan 2:32
11. Alagiaz 0:41
12. Berd 5:35
13. Chinares II 6:10
14. Shurma 2:29

In their first album Nor Dar (Tigran Sarkissian, Kora Michaelian, Orestis Moustidis) give us a unique sample of contemporary musical expression. The album is dedicated to Komitas, the man that worked tediously through his life, in order to collect and save the musical tradition of Armenia.

Nor Dar have the opportunity to give a new breeze to their musical tradition, enriching it with jazz-fusion schemes. The classical background of Kora Michaelian and her counting of jazz, gives her the opportunity to express in a modern language the endless melodic tunes she has raised with. The album 'Opus of the Lizard' won in 1998 the award for best album cover (artwork by Alexandros Kaloutas), with a special reference to the musical arrangements of the band, from the International Committee of the Armenian music Awards (Los Angeles, USA).

Tigran Sarkissian (Duduk, Shevi, Zourna, Clarinet, Bass Recorder and Vocals)
Kora Michaelian (Piano, Synthesizer and Vocals)
Orestis Moustidis (Drums, Tabla, Bendir, Tuberleki, Nada Drum, Bells and Triangle)

All compositions by Komitas - Arrangements by Kora Michaelian.

No comments: